Cambiar al Español MAIN MENU

Holy Orders

Devoted to the Sacred Order of Bishops, Priests and Deacons.

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. It includes three degrees: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate. CCC # 1536

Food for Thought

No priests = No Eucharist

The ministerial priesthood has the task not only of representing Christ, the Head of the Church, before the assembled faithful, but to act on behalf of the whole Church when presenting to God the prayer of the Church, the Eucharistic sacrifice. Catholic doctrine teaches that the degrees of priestly participation (episcopate and presbyterate) and the grade of service (diaconate) are all three conferred by a sacramental act called "ordination", ie, by the Sacrament of Holy Orders.

Let everyone revere the deacons as Jesus Christ, the bishop as the image of the Father and the presbyters as the senate of God and the assembly of the apostles; because without them the Church cannot speak.

The Office of Vocations for the Archdiocese of Miami encourages all who wish to seek the will of God in their lives to consider the priesthood or religious life. Throughout the year, focus groups and vocational retreats are open to help people who are considering a vocation in the Church.

If you think you feel the vocational call to the priesthood or religious life, do not let time pass ... call directly to our pastor or contact the director of vocations for the Archdiocese of Miami .